Thomas S. Johnson

Stephen P Duggan Award for Mutual Understanding

“It is impossible to understand other peoples and to appreciate properly their worth without
correct information concerning their life, institutions, and culture.”

-Stephen P. Duggan, Founder and first President, Institute of International Education

On a regular basis, the Institute of International Education (IIE) recognizes outstanding accomplishments in government and education by the award of the Institute’s Stephen P. Duggan Award for Mutual Understanding, the highest honor of the Institute.

The Institute’s Stephen P. Duggan Award for Mutual Understanding is named after the Institute’s first president, a professor of diplomatic history, who founded the Institute in 1919 with two Nobel Laureates, Elihu Root and Nicholas Murray Butler. The award is presented by the Institute’s Board of Trustees to distinguished world leaders in the fields of government, education, and diplomacy in recognition of their lifetime of accomplishment and commitment to the causes that represent the underpinning of the Institute’s mission: a deep-seated belief that the world can be made a better and safer place through educational exchange and an understanding and appreciation of other peoples and other cultures.

The Stephen P. Duggan Award was established by IIE in 1990. Among the recipients of the Duggan Award in recognition of their government service are:

Chairman of the Federal Reserve Alan Greenspan
United Nations Secretary General Kofi Annan
United States Secretary of State Madeline Albright
United States Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan
United State Senator Patrick Leahy
United States Senator Charles E. Schumer
Congressman Benjamin A. Gilman
Congresswoman Nita Lowey
President of the Federal Reserve Paul A. Volcker
President of France Valery Giscard d’Estaing
President of Ireland Mary Robinson
Secretary of Treasury Lawrence Summers
Thai Foreign Minister and Ambassador Thanan Khoman

In recognition of their service to education, The Institute’s Board has conferred the Duggan Award on:

The Freeman Foundation
George Rupp, President of Columbia University
Dr. Henry Kaufman, President of Henry Kaufman and Company
The Honorable Kapil Sibal, Minister of Human Resource Development, India
Mr. Thomas S. Johnson, IIE Chairman of the Board
Dr. John Sexton, President Emeritus, New York University