Women's Global Leadership Award

Women's Global Leadership Award

The Institute of International Education created the Women's Global Leadership Award to mark its 90th anniversary and presented the inaugural honor at the 90th Anniversary Gala at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in New York City.

The inaugural Women's Global Leadership Award was presented in 2009 to Laya Khadjavi, Roya Khadjavi-Heidari, and Nazgol Saati Shahbazi to honor the many ways in which they and their philanthropy have helped to involve the Iranian community in the U.S. in improving cultural and educational relations between Iran and the United States. The Iran Opportunities Fund, established by these three women alongside IIE Trustee Maryam Panahy Ansary, is a unique public-private partnership dedicated to fostering mutual understanding between the U.S. and Iran through international exchange. To date, more than 25 students from Iran have benefited from this fund during their tenure as Persian Language Teaching Assistants at universities around the United States.

In 2010, IIE presented the award to Denise V. Benmosche and Amy C. Brandt in recognition of their exceptional commitment to advancing IIE’s Scholar Rescue Fund (SRF). Both women have played a seminal role in enabling SRF to rescue persecuted scholars from around the globe and advance academic freedom worldwide. Special guest HRH Princess Ghida Talal of Jordan joined IIE Trustee Henry Jarecki in presenting this award.

Women's Global Leadership Award Recipients

2011    Angelica Berrie

2010    Denise V. Benmosche and Amy C. Brandt

2009    Laya Khadjavi, Roya Khadjavi-Heidari, and Nazgol Saati Shahbazi