IIE: Celebrating 95 years of opening minds to the world

Council for International Exchange of Scholars Advisory Board

The Council for International Exchange of Scholars, the scholar division of the Institute of International Education, is well known for its expertise and extensive experience in conducting international exchange programs for scholars and university administrators. For more than sixty years, CIES has administered the Fulbright Scholar Program, the United States flagship academic exchange effort, on behalf of the United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA).


William Durden
Dickinson College


Richard Bissell
Executive Director
Policy and Global Affairs at the National Academy of Sciences (NAS)

Victor J. Boschini, Jr.
Texas Christian University

Michael A. Brintnall
Executive Director
American Political Science Association

Angel Cabrera
George Mason University

Ronald Kassimir
Senior Advisor, Africa Programs
Social Science Research Council

Linda Katehi
University of California, Davis

Ronald D. Liebowitz
Middlebury College

Bette Loiselle
Director & Associate Professor
International Center for Tropical Ecology
University of Missouri

Michael B. McCall
Kentucky Community and Technical College System

Harris Pastides
University of South Carolina

Preston Pulliams
Portland Community College

Sidney Ribeau
Howard University

Anand Yang
Director, Jackson School of International Studies
University of Washington

Click here to see Advisory Board Member bios



CIES maintains deep ties with the higher education community in the United States and abroad, including individual universities and colleges, major scholarly organizations, and academic associations. CIES also collaborates with a network of bi-national Fulbright Commissions in 50 countries and 90 U.S. diplomatic posts around the world.

Visit site