2003 Heiskell Awards Honorable Mention: Faculty Programs

CSU San Bernardino

San Bernardino Professors Across Borders

Nomination submitted by: Rosalie Giacchino-Baker and Elsa Ochoa-Fernandez, Co-Directors, International Institute

Program Mission
Professors in all five colleges of the campus have taken part in workshops and programs for Professors Across Borders as part of a four-year, university-wide emphasis on internationalization. CSUSB's International Institute, International Student Services, and Teaching Resource Center have collaborated in providing support for faculty development and travel that has led to internationalized curriculum and study abroad opportunities for students. Of the more than 400 full-time faculty, more than 75 professors have identified themselves as having professional international experiences that they have begun to infuse into their classes.

Selection Panel Members 2003

The members of the selection panel for this year’s awards include the following leaders in international education:

Britta Baron
Director, German Academic Exchange Service

Madeleine F. Green
VP, American Council on Education and Director, Center for Institutional and International Initiatives

Karlheinz Muhr
Chairman and CEO, Volaris Advisors

Diane J. Paton
Vice Chairman, Board of Trustees, Institute of International Education