Heiskell Awards: Franklin University

2014 Heiskell Award Honorable Mention: International Partnerships

Franklin University - Wyzsza Szkola Bankowa (Poland) Academic Partnership

Photo: Franklin University 2013 MBA graduation at Wyzsza Szkola Bankowa in Poland.

Nomination submitted by: Dr. Doug Ross, Associate Dean - Global MBA

Program Overview

In 2008, Franklin University and Wyzsza Szkola Bankowa entered into an academic partnership, with the initial aim of designing, promoting, and offering a Master’s degree program in Business Administration to adult students residing in Poland. The relationship between the two schools matured beyond the concept of partnership to a more interdependent learning ecosystem model focused on the scholarship of teaching and learning and on student success at both institutions. The joint projects currently underway include faculty and staff exchanges, quality review of existing academic offerings, planning and collaborative development of new curricular tracks and courses, and the planned transfer of know-how.

More than 30 faculty members, staff members, and trustees from Franklin have visited WSB and more than 25 faculty, staff, and trustees from WSB have visited Franklin. These visits usually involve teaching students, exchanging information about the institution’s best practices, designing curriculum for students to incorporate global perspectives, participation in cultural activities and events, and planning collaborative activities to advance the scholarship and practice of teaching. A number of student groups from WSB have also visited Franklin. During the visits the students participate actively in seminars with domestic students. These dynamic exchanges have led to new relationships, advances in intercultural competence and knowledge about their respective academic experiences, as well as advances in teaching practices.

Program Implementation:

Read the winning nomination, including details on how the program achieves its objectives

2017 Awards Presentation

IIE will present the annual IIE Andrew Heiskell Awards for Best Practices in Internationalization at a ceremony in Miami, Florida on March 14, 2017, as part of the Annual Best Practices in Internationalization Conference.

Selection Panel Members 2014

The members of the selection panel for this year’s awards include the following leaders in international education:

Amparo Codding
Academic Dean, School of Arts, Humanities and Wellness, Bergen Community College

Arlene Jackson
Director of International Education, American Association of State Colleges & Universities (AASCU)

Daniel Obst
Deputy Vice President of International Partnerships, Institute of International Education (IIE)

Anne Waters
Senior Associate Dean, School of International and Public Affairs at Columbia University

Brian Whalen
President and CEO, The Forum on Education Abroad