2010 Heiskell Award Honorable Mention: International Exchange Partnerships

North Carolina State University & Université Paul Cézanne

Master of Global Innovation Management

Nomination submitted by: David H. Henard, Director of Graduate Programs, Global Innovation Management; Anne-Marie Guerin, Master of Global Innovation Management Program Director

Program Overview
Building on successful past student and faculty exchanges at both the undergraduate and graduate levels, North Carolina State University's Jenkins Graduate School of Management (NCSU) and Universite Paul Cezanne's IAE Graduate School of Management (IAE) launched the Master of Global Innovation Management (MGIM). Jump started with seed funding from the French Partner University Fund, this is a dual degree program that allows students to earn a degree from each of the participating schools: Master of Global Innovation Management (NCSU) and Master in Business Administration (IAE Aix-en-Provence). "Though the program is housed in respective graduate business schools, it is designed to educate primarily engineering, science, and other technically oriented students," says Ira R. Weiss, Dean of the College of Management at NCSU.

Students in the MGIM global cohort spend the fall semester at Aix-en-Provence then travel together to North Carolina to attend spring classes. The program includes an internship that can take place in the U.S., Europe, China, or other approved international settings. "This program was developed with the principal aim to provide engineering students with the skills and know-how necessary in global organizations to effectively transfer technologies to markets," says Marc Pena, President of the University of Paul Cezanne. Developed in 2008, MGIM stemmed from existing faculty and student exchanges between the two institutions that date back to 2000. The schools plan to expand the program by introducing a Chinese partner in the near future.

Program Implementation
Read the winning nomination, including details on how the program achieves its objectives

Selection Panel Members 2010

The members of the selection panel for this year’s awards include the following leaders in international education:

Stephen Dunnett
Vice Provost for International Education, State University of New York at Buffalo, and Past President, Association of International Education Administrators

Uliana Gabara
Dean of International Education, University of Richmond and Past President, Association of International Education Administrators (AIEA)

Sebastian Fohrbeck
Director, German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)

Judy Irwin
Global Education Advisor

Arlene Jackson
Director of International Education American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU)

Brian Whalen
President, The Forum on Education Abroad