Press Release

Institute of International Education Presents 2005 Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education


Deborah Gardner
Halstead Communications


Eight U.S. Campuses Recognized For Outstanding International Initiatives

NEW YORK, January 24, 2005 - The winners of the fourth annual Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education were announced today at the Institute of International Education (IIE) in New York City, at a meeting of the Institute's Board of Trustees. The campuses being recognized this year include a wide range of institutions, from a small liberal arts college and two community colleges to several large state and private universities, located across the continental United States and in Hawaii. This year's winning campuses are: Central Missouri State University, Santa Fe Community College, and University of Pittsburgh, with Honorable Mention to American University, Kalamazoo College, University of Arizona, University of Hawaii - Kapiolani Community College, and University of North Dakota.

In presenting the Heiskell Awards, IIE President Dr. Allan E. Goodman said, "The 2005 Andrew Heiskell Award-winning programs represent some of the most effective responses to the challenge of preparing the next generation to think and work on a global basis. By recognizing excellence and innovation, the Institute hopes to encourage other colleges to create and expand their own programs based on these successful models. Campuses with strong international programs provide a richer experience for both the U.S. students and the international students they serve."

The winning initiatives, listed below and profiled on the IIENetwork website (, successfully remove barriers to international study and increase participation in international teaching and learning.

The members of the Selection Panel for this year's awards include some of the leading names in international education: Lois DeFleur, President, Binghamton University; Stephen Dunnett, Vice Provost for International Education, University at Buffalo; Madeleine F. Green, Vice President, American Council on Education; Ulrich Grothus, Director, German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD); and Catharine R. Stimpson, Dean and University Professor, Graduate School of Arts & Science, New York University.

Dr. Goodman announced the Winners and Honorable Mentions in three award categories:

STUDY ABROAD: Providing innovative programs and services and making study abroad more accessible to a broader student population.

Winner: University of Pittsburgh (PA) - "The Plus3 Program: An Early Exposure to Study Abroad"

Honorable Mention awarded to Kalamazoo College (MI) - "People, the Environment, and Development: Landscape-Based Studies of Southeast Asian Ecosystems and Cultures", and to The University of Arizona (AZ) - "Trilateral Consortium on Capacity Building in Community Rehabilitation and Disability Studies"

OUTSTANDING FACULTY PROGRAM: Encouraging faculty to teach or conduct research abroad and to integrate their overseas experience into home campus teaching.

Winner: Central Missouri State University (MO) - "Maastricht Center for Transatlantic Studies"

Honorable Mention awarded to University of North Dakota (ND) - "Shanghai-North Dakota Joint Business Management Initiative"

INTERNATIONALIZING THE CAMPUS: Advancing curriculum development and providing services to international students.

Winner: Santa Fe Community College (FL) - "SFCC International Education Initiative"

Honorable Mention awarded to American University (DC) - "AU Abroad and Abroad at AU" and to University of Hawaii - Kapiolani Community College (HI) - "Island Roots and Global Reach"

The Institute also launched its 2005 "Best Practices" resource today on the IIENetwork website, at This site showcases all of the winning programs and those receiving honorable mention, as a resource for the international educational community worldwide. Each of the winning programs will receive a $1,000 prize. They will also be featured in the Spring 2005 issue of the IIENetworker magazine, and highlighted by IIE as the best practices in the field of international education throughout the year.

One of the Heiskell Awards will be presented in New York on January 24, at a reception held in conjunction with IIE's Board of Trustees meeting, and two will be presented at a luncheon on Capitol Hill this spring. The Awards are named for the late Andrew Heiskell, a longtime member of IIE's Board of Trustees, a renowned philanthropist, and a passionate supporter of international education, and have been endowed by a gift from Marian Sulzberger Heiskell as a lasting tribute to Mr. Heiskell's legacy.

# # #

The Institute of International Education is the world leader in the international exchange of people and ideas. An independent, not-for-profit organization founded in 1919, the Institute is the world's most experienced global higher education and professional exchange organization. IIE has a network of 18 offices worldwide, over 850 college and university members, and more than 5,000 volunteers. IIE designs and implements programs of study and training for students, educators, young professionals and trainees from all sectors with funding from government and private sources. These programs include the Fulbright and Humphrey Fellowships, administered for the U.S. Department of State, and development training programs administered for USAID. The Institute is a resource for educators and institutions worldwide, publishing Academic Year Abroad and Short Term Study Abroad and operating, the search engine for study abroad programs. IIE also conducts policy research and provides advising and counseling on international education and opportunities abroad. Information the Institute can be obtained from our Website:


Media Contact

Sharon Witherell
Director, Public Affairs
Tel: +1 212.984.5380

Shana Childs
Public Affairs
Tel: +1 212.984.5360

IIE Experts

IIE experts on international education are available for interviews or speaking engagements.

Dr. Allan E. Goodman
President and CEO

Peggy Blumenthal 
Senior Counselor to the President