Heiskell Awards: 2014

2014 Heiskell Award Winner: International Partnerships

The University of Michigan - Shanghai Jiao Tong University Joint Institute

Photo: Students of the Joint Institute at orientation

Nomination submitted by: Dr. Amy Conger, Assistant Vice Provost of Global Education

Program Overview:

The University of Michigan - Shanghai Jiao Tong University Joint Institute (JI), founded in 2006, represents a strategic global partnership that encompasses student mobility, dual degrees, and faculty collaboration to provide an innovative global engineering education. Its goal is to integrate the best features from both American and Chinese educational systems in a way that can eventually be extended to other academic disciplines. The institute’s vision is to educate the next generation of global leaders in science, engineering, and business, who are not only technically capable, but also adept in a cross-culture environment.

The Joint Institute program focuses on STEM education and offers an English language platform in China for collaborative teaching and student learning. The two institutions run a common engineering curriculum that allows Chinese students from the JI to transfer to the U-M and pursue a range of undergraduate and graduate programs. After earning a U-M degree, undergraduate students may return to the JI to earn a dual degree from Shanghai Jiao Tong University. In the other direction, nearly 300 students from the University of Michigan have studied abroad at the Joint Institute, making the partnership invaluable for both universities.

“Over 500 Chinese students have benefitted from the dual degree program since the JI was established, helping us develop the next generation of student leaders who will bring a global perspective to their professional work and understand the potential for Sino-US collaboration,” said Mary Sue Coleman, President of the University of Michigan.

Program Implementation:

Read the winning nomination, including details on how the program achieves its objectives

2017 Awards Presentation

IIE will present the annual IIE Andrew Heiskell Awards for Best Practices in Internationalization at a ceremony in Miami, Florida on March 14, 2017, as part of the Annual Best Practices in Internationalization Conference.

Selection Panel Members 2014

The members of the selection panel for this year’s awards include the following leaders in international education:

Amparo Codding
Academic Dean, School of Arts, Humanities and Wellness, Bergen Community College

Arlene Jackson
Director of International Education, American Association of State Colleges & Universities (AASCU)

Daniel Obst
Deputy Vice President of International Partnerships, Institute of International Education (IIE)

Anne Waters
Senior Associate Dean, School of International and Public Affairs at Columbia University

Brian Whalen
President and CEO, The Forum on Education Abroad