Membership Services
Manager Membership Services
212.984.5367 212.984.5496

The IIE Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education

IIE created these awards in 2001 to promote and honor the most outstanding initiatives being conducted in international higher education by IIENetwork member universities and colleges. We are particularly interested in highlighting innovative initiatives or programs that address a specific need, remove institutional barriers, and broaden the base of participation in international teaching and learning on campus. A winning initiative does not have to be the biggest or oldest. It should bring innovative approaches and new resources to bear on addressing a need or taking advantage of a new opportunity. By recognizing excellence and innovation, IIE hopes to encourage the expansion and creation of programs based on these successful models. There are four award categories for 2020 and all awardees will be recognized as part of the IIE Best Practices Conference in New York City on March 19-20, 2020.


If you have any questions about nominating your program for the IIE Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education, contact

Award Eligibility and Details
  • Only IIENetwork Member Institutions are eligible to apply and we encourage new members to join IIENetwork in order to submit a nomination for the Awards. Applications are welcome from U.S. and international (non-U.S.) members. Please note, for the Partnerships category, at least one of the partnering institutions must be an IIENetwork member. If you are unsure of your institution's membership status, contact 
  • Deadline to Apply: October 19, 2019
  • Nominations will be reviewed by the Heiskell Award Selection Committees in the Fall, and winners will be contacted at the end of the year.
  • Winning programs will be broadly recognized at IIE's Best Practices Conference, showcased on the IIE website and in the IIENetworker magazine.  Winners will also be presented with an award certificate, a $1,000 prize (shared by winning institutions in the Partnership category) and travel costs to NYC for the formal Awards Ceremony. 


2020 IIE Andrew Heiskell Award Categories

Category 1: Internationalizing the Campus 
Advancing the curriculum development, fostering international opportunities, integrating industry, and driving internationalization of the campus through creative programming. (Note that nominations in this category should be focused on a particular program or initiative as opposed to outlining a broad internationalization plan)

Category 2: Study Abroad

Providing innovative programs and services to make study abroad accessible and equitable for a broader student population. 

Category 3: Best Practices in International Partnerships

Recognizing strategic, comprehensive and innovative international partnership efforts that demonstrate strong, sustainable linkages among higher education institutions or other counterparts such as government, local community, NGOs.

Category 4: Internationalizing the Community College Campus

Creating innovative programs and services to make international opportunities accessible to community college students.