;

The Role of Higher Education in Fostering Civic Values

Contacts
Public Affairs

BANGKOK, August 24—IIE team members Jessica Loh and Jonathan Lembright published an article in the Handbook on Internationalisation in Education examining the role of higher education institutions (HEI) in growing global citizens. Their article “The Role of Higher Education in Fostering Civic Values” examined best practices and approaches for HEIs to produce graduates equipped to thrive in an increasingly globalized world.

Read the article

Photo: Jessica Loh and Jonathan Lembright, IIE Southeast Asia

Increasingly graduates’ further education or career placements relies on cultural awareness, experiential learning, and practical training. The higher education environment provides “an ideal incubator for the development of global civic literacy and values”, while study abroad and cross-cultural engagement enhance learning these critical skills.

The article highlighted three approaches:

  • A Global Campus like the NYU Global Network University. Rather than offering one study abroad opportunity in their undergraduate experience “the GNU model allows students to pepper their four years with global opportunities” diversifying their experience.
  •  A Multicultural Classroom that intentionally fosters intercultural competencies and attracts international students to enhance global learning.
  • Adapting the Liberal Arts outside the U.S. The article notes that “it is in a nation’s interest” to move from rote memorization education to the liberal arts model that trains the adaptive thinking needed to engage globally.
Briefing Paper India 2010

IIE Publications

IIE's publications have been standard reference resources on student mobility statistics, U.S. study abroad, grants and scholarships, and intensive English language programs. IIE's research reports and policy papers serve as a rapid response to the changing landscape of international education. ;
Contacts
Aileen O'Donnell
Manager, Alumni Initiatives
alumni@iie.org
Jonah Kokodyniak
Chief, Institutional Development
development@iie.org
Kristin Greene
Head, IIE Consulting
consulting@iie.org
IIE Social Media
Public Affairs
Shana Childs
212-984-5360 Media Contact
schilds@iie.org
IIE Summit
summit@iie.org
Careers at IIE
Careers
recruit@iie.org
Kristina Scheurle
External Relationship Partner
212.984.5313 jvisasponsorship@iie.org
Membership Services
Manager Membership Services
212.984.5367 212.984.5496 membership@iie.org
Joyce Hendricks
Chief Philanthropy Officer
philanthropy@iie.org
Office of Philanthropy
646.572.8741 philanthropy@iie.org
Research and Insights
Chi-Chi Okpalanma
Administrative Coordinator
202.326.7724
Public Affairs