2019 Nominations Open

All Goldberg Prize Winners 2018

IIE Victor J. Goldberg Prize for Peace in the Middle East

IIE awards the IIE Victor J. Goldberg Prize for Peace in the Middle East annually to recognize outstanding work being conducted jointly by two individuals, one Arab and one Israeli, working together to advance the cause of peace in the Middle East. The two individuals whose work is judged to be most successful in bringing people together and meeting the goals of the Prize share a US$10,000 prize. The winners are selected by a prestigious international selection committee. Award ceremonies are generally held each June, along with public announcement of the winners to press and social media. In 2019, the Prize will be celebrating it's 15th anniversary of recognizing and supporting continued work towards peace.

The Nomination Cycle is Now Open

The 2019 nomination cycle is now open - all nominations and materials must be submitted by February 1, 2019. The prize recognizes one Muslim Arab and one Jewish Israeli working together to advance peace in the Middle East.

2019 Goldberg Prize Nomination Form

“While there is no magic solution, one positive force may be to encourage people to live and work together at the grass roots, learning to trust and depend on one another for their common good.”

Vic Goldberg, IIE Trustee

"The Goldberg IIE Prize will encourage some of the best and the brightest young professionals to contribute their valuable knowledge and experience to the cause of peace in the Middle East, and will reward them for their courage and conviction in doing so."

Allan Goodman, IIE President and CEO

Goals of the Prize:

  • Advance the cause of peace in the Middle East
  • Reward those who are courageous and committed to work to overcome the religious, cultural, ethnic and political issues which divide the region
  • Break down barriers of hate towards “the other”
  • Recognize innovation
  • Inspire others working at the grassroots level, and demonstrate that their efforts are worthy of wider recognition   

To recognize the full range of excellent work being done in this very difficult and important area, IIE is encouraging applications from any two individuals whose activities meet the criteria and goals outlined above.  Eligibility in the past was limited to teams in which one member had some prior connection with IIE’s programs or sponsors.  Such prior connection will still get preference in close judgements, but will not automatically determine the winner.

Examples of relevant “prior connection” include State Department programs such as Fulbright Programs, Humphrey Fellowships, International Visitor Leadership Programs, as well as USAID, U.S. Institute for Peace, Ford Foundation and other foundations, government agencies and corporate-sponsored programs associated with IIE.  

Please contact the IIE Goldberg Prize program team at GoldbergPrize@iie.org with any questions.  

Goals of the Prize

Learn about the how the IIE Victor J. Goldberg recognizes and celebrates people working to advance peace in the Middle East. 

Learn more

Call for Nominations

The nomination cycle is now open. Learn how to apply for the 2019 Goldberg Prize.

Learn more

2018 Winners

The 2018 Goldberg Prize recognized three separate initiatives. Roie Ravitsky and Raed Badir won for their Mosaica Religious Peace Initiative. Dor Dayan and Shadi Khatib won for Middle East Peace Players Tamra/Naharia's All-Star team. Harb Amara and Dr. Nava Sonnenschein won for Change Agents: Jewish and Palestinian Professionals. They were honored at a ceremony at America House Jerusalem on June 13th.

See more winners