The National Science Foundation (NSF) guidelines require that all grant funds be used only by U.S. citizens or permanent residents, and cannot be disbursed to non-US citizens, even those enrolled in U.S. academic programs.  

Students must currently be enrolled in an eligible PhD program at a U.S. institution. Eligible fields include all recognized engineering fields, including but not limited to:

  • Aeronautical/Aerospace Engineering
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Electrical/Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Industrial Engineering
  • Material Sciences and Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Computer Science PhD candidates will be considered if the program is within the home institution’s Engineering School.