2011 Best Practices Conference

November 1, 2017 March 17, 2011

The Institute of International Education hosted the 6th Annual Best Practices in Internationalization Conference at the IIE headquarters in New York City. Leading experts in the field and the winners of the 2011 Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education presented successful strategies for internationalizing the campus. The conference focused on themes such as internationalization strategies, expanding participation in study abroad, and building international partnerships, and attracted over 120 participants, including university presidents, provosts, deans, and other leading experts in the field of international education.

The Institute of International Education presents the 6th Annual IIE Best Practices Conference

“Lead Your Campus to the Top: Best Practices in Internationalizing the Campus”

Celebrating 10 Years of IIE’s Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education and Featuring IIE’s 2011 Heiskell Award Winners

Allan E. Goodman, President and CEO, IIE

Opening Keynote: Enhancing Internationalization of Higher EducationE. Gordon Gee, President, The Ohio State University

Plenary: Strategic Planning for Comprehensive Internationalization: Best Practices for Internationalizing Business Education
Chair: Peter Thompson, Executive Vice President, Institute of International Education


Amyaz A. Moledina, Co-Director Center for Diversity and Global Engagement, Associate Professor of Economics, and Director of Social Entrepreneurship, College of Wooster (Heiskell Winner, Internationalizing the Campus) 
Presentation (606 KB, PDF)

Bryan Andriano, Senior Associate Director, Graduate International Education and Programs, The George Washington University (Heiskell Honorable Mention, Internationalizing the Campus)
Presentation (570 KB, PDF)

Jack Cheng, Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Vice President, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (Heiskell Honorable Mention, International Partnerships) 
Presentation (2.9 MB, PDF)

Concurrent Breakout Sessions
Session 1: Best Practices in Expanding Participation in Study Abroad

Chair: Mary Kirk, Senior Counselor, Academic Exchanges, Institute of International Education

Presentation (610 KB, PDF) 


Robert Lowndes, Vice Provost for International Affairs, Northeastern University (Heiskell Winner, Study Abroad)
Presentation (228 KB, PDF)

Daniel J. Paracka, Director for Education Abroad, Kennesaw State University (Heiskell Honorable Mention, Study Abroad) 
Remarks (147 KB, PDF)

Session 2: Global Student Mobility: Current Trends and New Directions

Chair and Presenter: Rajika Bhandari, Deputy Vice President for Research and Evaluation, Institute of International Education


Posiah Mohd Isa, Director, Malaysian Students Department, Embassy of Malaysia 
Presentation (596 KB, PDF)

Sebastian Fohrbeck, Director, German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
Presentation (6.4 MB, PDF)

Robert Ayan, Managing Partner, Cambridge Advisors LLC

Presentation of the 2011 Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education
Presented by Allan E. Goodman, President and CEO, IIE
Special Spain Award presented by José Manuel Martínez Sierra, Director, FundacionUniversidad.es

Honoring Marian S. Heiskell with the IIE Chairman’s Medal to Celebrate 10 Years of the
Andrew Heiskell Awards
Presented by Thomas S. Johnson, Chairman, Board of Trustees, IIE

Afternoon Plenary: Public Policy and Academic Exchange
Chair: Peggy Blumenthal, Senior Counselor, IIE
Afternoon Keynote Address

Alina L. Romanowski, Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Academic Programs, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, U.S. Department of State
Plenary: Best Practices for Building International Partnerships
Chair: Daniel Obst, Deputy Vice President, Center for International Partnerships, Institute of International Education


Adam Kolker, Assistant Dean, Executive Director, Translational Programs, Georgetown University Law Center (Heiskell Winner, International Partnerships)

María Gómez Ortueta, Director of the Office of International Relations, University of Castilla-La Mancha and
Harriet S. Turner, Harold E. Spencer Professor of Modern Languages and Literatures, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (Heiskell Winner, U.S.-Spain Academic Cooperation) 
Presentation (25.9 MB, PDF) 

Cheryl Matherly, Assistant Provost for Global Education, University of Tulsa

Closing Remarks
Peggy Blumenthal, Senior Counselor, IIE