Henry Kaufman Prize Medal

Henry Kaufman Prize

The Henry Kaufman Prize was created to honor a national leader or public official for his or her work in promoting and developing international education at the tertiary level.

Created by the Institute of International Education's Board of Trustees in honor of the 90th Anniversary of the Institute's founding, the Prize recognizes Dr. Henry Kaufman, IIE's Chairman Emeritus, for over 25 years of outstanding service as a Trustee of the Institute.

Under Henry Kaufman's leadership, IIE has expanded its work to more countries and launched a number of new initiatives, such as the Scholar Rescue Fund, which provides fellowships for established scholars whose lives and work are threatened in their home countries. The Kaufman Prize recognizes that international education is more critical than ever to promoting international understanding and seeks to honor those who have taken it upon themselves to promote the cause.

The Prize will be awarded annually to honor a national leader or public official for his or her work in promoting and developing international education at the tertiary level. Such efforts may include, but are not limited to, the following activities:

  • founding study abroad programs or international institutions of higher education
  • facilitating the exchange of international students for the purpose of mutual understanding
  • developing policy that increases the potential for study abroad
  • aiding threatened scholars to escape persecution

Inaugural Kaufman Prize Recipient

The first recipient of the Henry Kaufman Prize was Dr. Fasli Jalal, Vice Minister of National Education to the Republic of Indonesia, for his outstanding contributions to the field of international education in Indonesia and throughout the world. Dr. Jalal has demonstrated a strong commitment to strengthening the educational relationship between the U.S. and Indonesia. To encourage the expansion of bilateral programs in higher education, he established joint science and technology research priorities and helped build capacity at higher institutions in Indonesia to promote U.S. studies. In addition, Dr. Jalal is a co-founder and co-chair for the Joint U.S.-Indonesia Council for Higher Education Partnership, which was formed last year by five U.S. non-governmental organizations and higher education leaders in Indonesia. The founding U.S. organizations are the Institute of International Education, APLU, the U.S.-Indonesia Society (USINDO), the East-West Center, and the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC).

As Vice Minister of National Education, Dr. Jalal has also supported a $1 million scholarship program for Papuans to study at the graduate level in the U.S. in order to enhance the quality of educators in Papua. He has helped to facilitate several other international education initiatives for Indonesians as well, including a program for Chinese teachers to teach Chinese language at Indonesian universities, and a program for Indonesian students to study abroad in the Netherlands. Dr. Jalal was appointed Vice Minister of National Education to the Republic of Indonesia in January 2010. Prior to this appointment, he served as the Director General for Non-Formal Education and Youth, the Director General for Quality Improvement of Teacher and Education Personnel, and the Director General for Higher Education.



The winner will receive a specially struck medal and a diploma presented at the Institute's headquarters in New York City in acknowledgment of his or her efforts and achievements in advancing international education.


The selection will be made by a jury comprised of college and university presidents serving on the Institute's Board and other Trustees. The Chairman of the Jury is Dr. Henry A. Kissinger.