Fulbright Scholar Advisory Board (CIES)

The Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES) was founded as a non-profit organization in 1947 and administered the Fulbright Scholar Program on behalf of the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA). In 1996, administration of the Fulbright Scholar Program transferred to the Institute of International Education (IIE), while the Fulbright Scholar Advisory Board (CIES) continued as an independent body providing valuable guidance on the administration and future trajectory of the program. The Fulbright Scholar Advisory Board (CIES) is composed of higher education experts from a variety of colleges, universities, and institutions dedicated to furthering international education and multicultural understanding.


Harris Pastides Interim President, Distinguished President Emeritus and Distinguished Professor Emeritus, University of South Carolina


Robert Berdahl Chancellor Emeritus, University of California, Berkeley 
President Emeritus, Association of American Universities

Victor J. Boschini Chancellor, Texas Christian University

Rafael L. Bras K. Harrison Brown Family Chair, Georgia Institute of Technology

Hannah Buxbaum Vice President for International Affairs, Indiana University 
John E. Schiller Chair in Legal Ethics and Professor of Law

Joy Connolly President, American Council of Learned Societies

Joan Gabel President, University of Minnesota

Allan Goodman CEO Institute of International Education

Robin Helms Assistant Vice President, Programs & Global Initiatives, American Council on Education (ACE)

Cynthia Jackson-Hammond President, Council of Higher Education Association

Ronald Kassimir Vice President of Programs, Social Science Research Council

Jesse Lutabingwa Associate Vice Chancellor of International Education and Development & Professor of Public Administration, Appalachian State University 

Reitumetse Obakeng Mabokela Vice Provost for International Affairs and Global Strategies, University of Illinois

Gary May Chancellor, University of California Davis

Fernando Reimers Ford Foundation Professor of Practice in International Education 
Faculty Director, International Education Policy, Harvard Graduate School of Education

Vaughan Turekian Executive Director of the Policy and Global Affairs Division (PGA), National Academies